Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

9th Grade Prophets Project: Home

Jonah Eaten by a Whale

Jonah Eaten by the Whale (from a Hebrew Bible, 1299. Instituto da Biblioteca Nacional, Lisbon, Portugal)

Jonah Eaten by the Whale

(From a Hebrew Bible, 1299. Instituto da Biblioteca Nacional, Lisbon, Portugal)

Databases (Choose database/reference source on NoodleTools. Include page #s for Gale.)

EBSCO eBook Collection (Choose database/book or database/reference source - see below - on NoodleTools. Open the chapter/section field for books. Include page #s if given.)

E-books (Choose database/book):

E-Reference sources (Bible Commentaries) [Choose database/ref. source]:

Print Sources (on cart in library)

Print Books - basic (Choose Print/book. You do not need to include the chapter information if it doesn't have a different author than the book):

  • Meet the Prophets: A Beginner's Guide to the Books of the Biblical Prophets - Their Meaning, Then and Now by John W. Miller
  • The Fiery Throne: The Prophets and Old Testament Theology by Walther Zimmerli
  • Introduction to the Prophets by Paul L. Redditt
  • The Hebrew Prophets by James D. Newsome, Jr.

Print Books - Reference (Choose Print/Reference Source. You must also include the title of the article and its author in your citation):

  • Dictionary of the Old Testament Prophets*, edited by Mark J. Boda and J. Gordon McConville
  • Various Bible Commentaries

Bible Gateway (Good News Bible)

Bible Gateway (Good News Bible) Cite parenthetically; do not include on Works Cited