Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National History Day: Archives

NHD Archives

World History

 

Institution Collection Name/Description URL
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum  Education page http://www.ushmm.org/education/ 
  The Holocaust: a learning site for students http://www.ushmm.org/outreach/
Eye Witness to History Eye Witness to History http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/index.html
International Civil Rights Hall of Fame International Civil Rights Hall of Fame http://www.nps.gov/features/malu/feat0002/wof/
World Digital Library Access to manuscripts, rare books, maps, photographs, and other cultural documents from all countries and culture https://www.wdl.org/en/

 

U.S. History (broad)

 

Institution  Collection Name/Description  URL 
Library of Congress  Main page http://www.loc.gov
  Teachers' Page  

http://www.loc.gov/teachers/

http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) Digital Classroom

https://www.archives.gov/

  100 Milestone Documents: Documents in the National Archives and Records Administration that chronicle the history of the United States from 1776 to 1965 http://www.ourdocuments.gov/ 
  DocsTeach, which provides thousands of documents and images from the National Archives as well as learning activities and lessons http://docsteach.org/
National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, "Teaching with Historic Places" https://www.nps.gov/subjects/teachingwithhistoricplaces/index.htm
National Museum of African American History and Culture A museum that seeks to teach American History through the lens of the African American Experience https://nmaahc.si.edu/
Smithsonian Institution Smithsonian Institution website http://www.si.edu/
  Pages for educators http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/
Making of America (University of Michigan and Cornell University) A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/
Duke University Medicine and Madison Avenue http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/mma/
University of California, San Francisco Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL): this digital library contains more than 13 million documents (70+ million pages) and 7,600 video and audio recordings created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities.

http://legacy.library.ucsf.edu/

American Museum of Natural History Resources for learning http://www.amnh.org/education/resources/index.php
Museum of the Moving Image The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008 http://www.livingroomcandidate.org/
Duke University AdAccess: advertisements from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection https://repository.duke.edu/dc/adaccess


Northeast Regional History

 

State Collection name/description  URL 
Connecticut Connecticut Digital Archive http://collections.ctdigitalarchive.org/
Maine Maine Memory Network http://www.mainememory.net/ 
Maryland Maryland Historical Society Collections Online  http://www.mdhs.org/museum/collections-online
Massachusetts Harvard University Open Collections Program http://digitalcollections.harvard.edu/
  Massachusetts Historical Society Online Resources

http://masshist.org/collections/online​

http://www.masshist.org/education/

  Memorial Hall Museum Online: American Centuries--view from New England http://www.memorialhall.mass.edu/home.html
New York New York Historical Society https://www.nyhistory.org/web/default.php?section=education&page=digital_resources
  New York Public Library Digital Collections http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm
Vermont Center for Digital Initiatives, University of Vermont  http://cdi.uvm.edu/collections/index.xql

 

Other Resources for Finding and Evaluating Online Primary Sources

 

  • EDSITEment — the Best of the Humanities on the Web: (National Endowment for the Humanities)