Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

9th Grade Orations Project: Home

Cicero Denounces Catiline

Cicero Denounces Caitiline

Cicero Denounces Caitiline

 (Fresco by Cesare Maccari, 1889. Palazzo Madama, Rome)

Plutarch's Lives (Choose website/book)

Plutarch. "Title of Section." Fall of the Roman Republic. Translated by Rex Warner, Rev. ed., Penguin, 1958, pp. ?-?, https://drive.google.com/file/d/1c448pTQMiflpKny_boDsEMHX2_Fb0AJ9/view?usp=sharing. Accessed ? Jan. 2021.

Marius

Sulla

Crassus

Pompey

Caesar

Cicero

Plutarch. "Name of Section." Roman Lives: A Selection of Eight Roman LivesTranslated by Robin Waterfield, Oxford UP, 2009, pp. ?-?, https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1yQNM-OU1_cWQJZJsHh3FBn0Uo23P-D6d. Accessed ? Jan. 2021.

Tiberius and Gaius Gracchus

Antony

Plutarch. "Brutus." Rome in Crisis: Nine Lives by Plutarch. Translated by Ian Scott-Kilvert and Christopher Pelling, Penguin, 2010, https://docs.google.com/document/d/1dipR8lTyMtw-k6Mufay0SCiUtzRhYTndlhqL2mOtHWg/edit?usp=sharing. Accessed ? Jan. 2021.

Brutus

Augustus (Choose Website/book) & Suetonius (Choose website/anthology)

Augustus. The Deeds of the Divine Augustus [Res Gestae]. Translated by Thomas Bushnell, 1998, Internet Classics Archive, classics.mit.edu/Augustus/deeds.html. Accessed 22 Jan. 2021.

Suetonius. "The Life of Augustus." The Lives of the Twelve Caesars, translated by J. C. Rolfe, Loeb Classical Library, 1913. Greek and Roman Authors on LacusCurtius, penelope.uchicago.edu/Thayer/E/Roman/Texts/Suetonius/ 12Caesars/Augustus*.html. Accessed 22 Jan. 2021.

Databases (NoodleTools choices: see below)

*Ancient and Medieval History Online (Choose database/book; open chapter/section field)

*Gale in Context: Biography (Choose database/reference source or database/magazine.)

Gale eBooks (Choose database/reference source)

**Gale One File: World History (Choose database/journal)

Oxford Reference Online (Choose database/reference source)

*new

**more advanced

EBSCO eBook Collection (Choose database/book on NoodleTools. Open the chapter/section field. Include page range for chapter..)